If You Like…Susan Elizabeth Phillips

We are now in process of  periodically updating the If You Like lists at AAR.  Pollsters Lee Brewer and Cindy Smith have given me suggestions for updates to the lists as they appear now.  We also would like to hear what our readers have to say.  This week’s author writes contemporary romance in quite a different style than the historical author we profiled last.  It’s Susan Elizabeth Phillips.  Here are the authors we have as our recommendations for ones that you may enjoy if you like Susan Elizabeth Phillips:

Susan Andersen

Elizabeth Bevarly

Jennifer Crusie

Susan Donovan

Rachel Gibson

Jane Graves

Jennifer Greene

Christie Ridgway

Continue reading

If You Like…Jo Beverley

A few months ago, I promised I would be updating the If You Like lists at AAR.  I asked for help from pollsters Lee Brewer and Cindy Smith, and they provided me with input.  Now I’m going to go to the readers.  This week’s author will be an addition to the list as it now appears – Jo Beverley.  Here are the authors we have as our recommendations for ones that you may enjoy if you like Jo Beverley:

Joanna Bourne

Jane Feather

Jo Goodman

Elizabeth Hoyt

Bettina Krahn

Josie Litton

Julie Anne Long

Barbara Metzger

Karen Ranney

Melody Thomas

Katherine Sutcliffe

Elizabeth Thornton

Recommending new authors is a tricky process.  You might like an author because of the genre they write in, or the time period they set their books in, or because of their unique prose.  One reader may love Jo Beverley and hate, say, Karen Ranney, while another reader would agree that these two are a good match for like stories.  I’d like to open this for discussion from our well read readers.

  • Do you think the above authors are good matches for Jo Beverley?
  • What about Jo Beverley’s writing do you find unique or specifically enjoyable?  For Beverley’s fans – what makes you search out her books?
  • Is anyone missing from the above list?

After our readers have weighed in, I will update our existing page an link it to this discussion so that others may profit from the experience of AAR’s readership.  I hope to update or add to our pages in this way so that they are more useful and dynamic.

So please comment!  We await your romance reading wisdom!  Thank you.

- Rachel Potter

If You Like at AAR

I’ve always had a soft spot for the If You Like pages because they are actually what led me to All About Romance in the first place.

Back in the fall of 1999 a lot of the chaos of my twenties was finally behind me.  I’d finished school, grad school, gotten a job, gotten married, and had bought a house.   At last I had time to read.  For fun.  So I turned back to my first love…romance novels.  Back in the early 80′s I’d read Kathleen E. Woodiwiss’s A Rose in Winter as a Good Housekeeping super-condensed fiction highlight of the month.  I was eleven, but I still remember the sweeping romantic line drawings on the beige colored insert.  I read it in sneak peeks in the downstairs bathroom because somehow I knew this was adult-type stuff.

Continue reading